TAARII Membership and Board of Directors

TAARII was founded in 1989 by a consortium of American universities, colleges, and museums, which are the primary beneficiaries of its programs. Institutional representatives serve as TAARII’s Board of Directors and participate in its governance. TAARII is, therefore, directly responsible to its stakeholders. The TAARII Executive Committee, consisting of the officers and two Board members, assures academic integrity, organizational oversight, and financial and programmatic reporting.

TAARII’s individual membership includes students and scholars of all ranks, as well as interested members of the public who support its programming and receive its electronic newsletter.

Institutional Members, 2014–2015

  • American Schools of Oriental Research
  • American University of Iraq Sulaimani
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Arkansas
  • Boston University's Institute for Iraqi Studies
  • British Institute for the Study of Iraq
  • Brown University
  • University of California, Berkeley, Center for Middle Eastern Studies
  • University of Chicago, Oriental Institute
  • Columbia University, Middle East Institute
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University–University of North Carolina Consortium for Middle East Studies
  • George Washington University
  • Georgetown University
  • Harvard University
  • Hofstra University
  • Indiana State University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • University of Maryland
  • National University of Singapore
  • New York University
  • University of Pennsylvania Museum
  • Portland State University, Middle East Studies Center
  • Rutgers University
  • Smithsonian Institute
  • Stanford University
  • State University of New York, Stony Brook
  • Texas State University
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Washington
  • Williams College

Officers of the Board

  • Peter Wien, President
  • Eric Davis, Vice President  (TAARII Vice-President)
  • Jason Ur, Secretary
  • Waiel Hindo, Treasurer
  • McGuire Gibson, Founding President

Executive Committee

  • Magnus Bernhardsson, Williams College
  • Eric Davis, Rutgers University  (TAARII Vice President)
  • McGuire Gibson, University of Chicago
  • Waiel Hindo  (TAARII Treasurer)
  • Stephen Humphreys, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Dina Khoury, George Washington University
  • Peter Sluglett, National University of Singapore
  • Jason Ur, Harvard University  (TAARII Secretary)
  • Peter Wien, University of Maryland, College Park  (TAARII President)
  • Bassam Yousif, Indiana State University


If you wish to join TAARII as an institutional member, the annual fee to be paid by your university, college, library, or museum is $250. If you wish to join TAARII as an individual member, the annual, general fee is $35, and the student fee is $20 dollars. Join online or by mail on the following page:

For further information, please contact TAARII’s U.S. office at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Or, to join TAARII in Iraq, please contact Dr. Lucine Taminian, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it